Mattel Pixar Disney Cars Checklist: The Book

mcq-doc.jpg

If you love CARS, if wonder if your collection is complete complete and if it’s really been 2-years, how about a book that collects EVERY item released and one long run on sentence about collecting CARS from Day 1?

Well, wonder no more – we have put together the perfect book for you. It’s 100% about CARS. Yep, 100% about the real world of CARS between the April 2006 and December 31, 2007.

This book, “Mattel Pixar CARS: The Diecast Story & Checklist 2006-2007-Volume One” is only about one thing. Over 110 pages, and OVER 250 full-color photographs of EVERY CARS item released by Mattel including every CAR on card, every Movie Moment, every packaging variant, every Movie Double, every box set and many surprises! All photos are high resolution photos.

cover.jpg

It is a “on-demand” published book at Lulu.com so when you order one, they print one up – takes about 5-7 days for you to get one. It’s a large oversized trade paperback – 8.5″ by 11″. You’re also protected with your credit card info as it’s all done through their secure website.

You can check out a preview of the first ten pages also.

It’s $39.99 which reflects a small profit for us but the main cost is it’s 114-pages long – there’s not much to trim to make much of a price difference … so really blame Mattel for releasing at least 250 items! :-) I didn’t actually stop to count but I think there are actually closer to 350 photos since I included cardbacks, variants, Wal*Mart ads, posters, etc … for instance, every card that has NEW is along side it’s “blank” brother. I might have left a few pebbles unturned but it’s pretty complete. As for the text, I think in the preview of the pages you can see it’s real content with my experience and insight into marketing, advertising and retailing.

ex-front.jpg

Of course, for everyone that contributed, your thanks is on the back page :-)

BTW, it is NOT a price guide – there are some prices listed within the text when discussing the original prices but other than that, it is a recap of CARS from 2006 to 2007 in words and photos.

So, grab a copy and buy a t-shirt, crack open a cold one, and enjoy the nostalgic, thrilling, enthralling, agonizing and teary road trip down the memory lane that is/was CARS.

(The writing was the easy part, the assembling of photos and the process at lulu was frankly a lulu but enjoy … yes, there should be more blank pages to separate sections but hey, every non blank page is a cost savings passed on you!)

14 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Books, Checklist, Marketing, Mattel Disney Pixar CARS, Retail, Toys, TV

14 responses to “Mattel Pixar Disney Cars Checklist: The Book

  1. Question. When you update the book with the next round of CARS released as of January 1, 2008, will we be able to buy the supplemental pages or will we have to buy the complete book? (Spoken like a true completest! :-) )

    I’d like to take this opportunity to thank you for your ongoing “coverage” of all that’s new and cool in the world of Disney/PIXAR diecast cars. It has made it so easy to keep up with all the different cars and cards. I’m in Texas and have people all over the country tracking down the unchecked boxes on my check list. Amazingly enough most of my cars are found by family in Wyoming and Colorado! Thank goodness for small towns…

    Keep up the super job!

    -Becky

    PS: I own one of your t-shirts… “CARS OBSESSED”. It says it all.

    (METROXING: Thanks for buying a t-shirt! :-) I think Volume II will be separate only because of the cost … since there is a charge per page on top of the “base price” that Lulu charges, I actually decided to stop adding pages to Volume I so it could be priced at $39.99 … but I can’t say 100% since if Lulu lowers prices or if I find a better deal elsewhere I might add a combined version but I’ll still offer a separate version so people can stay complete. Anyway, thanks and glad to help! Thanks!)

  2. Harry B

    Sweet, I might order a copy. I think you should, with 10% of the profit, ask mattel what they are plannig to add for a new car

    (METROXING: Let me know what you think if you do … as for Mattel, they’re just too busy :-) )

  3. Jurgen B

    I’ve ordered a copy, I’m sure my kids (and me) will love it. BTW, does anyway know where to buy Mattel cars cases in Europe, as basically customs and VAT from the US or Canada spoil the price here…

    (METROXING: It doesn’t seem like there much case selling in Europe – any laws against it? … But the dollar keeps dropping so maybe it’s time for a trip here. :-) Thanks and enjoy the book!)

  4. Jurgen B

    I live in Belgium by the way, over here you can’t find any of the newest cars in stores (e.g. such as Bruiser, Kori, TJ Hummer, Barney Stormin’, Charlie Checker, Tom, Tow, ….). Look like you Americans are keeping the cases for yourselves ;-)

    (METROXING: Don’t blame us, blame Mattel! :-) )

  5. megaheat2008

    HELLO 2ADAY/ALLRIGHT THEN DOWN TO BUSINESS LADIES AND GENTS FROM THIS “HUNT SICKNESS” I HAVE ENDURED EVER FLOWING GAS PRICES,RUDE EMPLOYEES,NICE EMPLOYEES YEP YOU NAME IT WAL-MART-K-MART-TOYS R US -KB TOYS BOSCOVS-THE STORES THE MALLS THE DRIVING ENDLESSLY TRIPS I TAKE IN SEARCH OF……(LEONARD NIMOY/SPOCK)LIL’HUMOR HERE, YES I HAVE THE ANTIDOTE, “BUY THE BOOK FROM 2ADAY”ALSO,I HAVE THE NEXT BEST THING ON THE WAY “THEE I SHALL CALL IT THE FIFTY FIRST (51),AND FIFTY SECOND (52),AND FIFTY THIRD (53),AND FIFTY FOURTH (54)RANSBURG LIGHTNING MCQUEENS THERE FOLKS AND ONLY FOUR TRAFFIC CONES TO DRIVE THROUGH : )

  6. megaheat2008

    METROXING- I HAVE PURCHASED THE BOOK I WILL LOVE ADDING THIS TO MY SONS “CARS BOOK COLLECTION” HECK HE CAN’T READ YET BUT SURE LOVES THE PICTURES PAGE FLIP AFTER PAGE FLIP(EVEN I HELP)AFTER ALL BEING 2 YEARS OLD IS TOUGH ENOUGH!!!FOR HIM ITS WELL WORTH IT ALL!!! METROXING,AND YOUR PARTNER ON THE EAST COAST AS I/WITH ALL A PROSPEROUS YEAR (TIZ,RIGHT?) MEGAHEAT2008/JOE

    (METROXING: There’s defintely plenty of photos – he’ll wonder why the crazy adults haen’t liberated the CARS from their plastic blister prisons … :-) Thanks!)

  7. Hi,

    I just ordered your book…I’m sure we’ll loooove it.
    Very excited…!

    I’m also from Belgium …the interest for cars here is getting crazy…I’m selling them (on the internet) and cannot keep up….I hope Mattel releases some new cases very soon ! ;-)

    (METROXING: Thanks. Good luck with the business … CARS should keep you busy for a while :-) )

  8. megaheat2008

    “Darn Good Driving” METROXING, FABULOUUUSSSS!!!!! THE BOOK CAME IN THE MAIL TODAY -I AM “WOW-D”! THIS IS A+++ ON MY ROAD MAP!!! THE KIDS ARE EXCITED ALSO “CONGRATULATIONS” AGAIN ,AND MUCH MORE SUCCESS 2 YOU!!! THANKYOU FOR ALL THAT YOU HAVE DONE TO MAKE MY “HUNT” A ROAD RAGING HELLA-OF-A GOOD FUN TIME ON THE WEB,AND OR OUT AND ABOUT SHOPPING FOR MATTEL/DISNEY/PIXAR “CARS”- JOE

    (METROXING: Thanks and enjoy! If you get a chance to leave a review or comment at the Lulu site, that would be grat – thanks!)

  9. Tony

    Received my book yesterday and all I have to say is one word: SUPERB! How about two words: SUPERB! SUPERB! I might as well go for the gusto. I have three words to say: SUPERB! SUPERB! SUPERB! This is a must-have book for every CARS collector.

    I have not read a book in years, I mean years. I sat down and read this book in one setting. My seven year old kept begging me for it (after all I started collecting CARS for him in 2006 when he was 6). Wouldn’t let him have it until I was completely finished.

    I think this book will be a collector’s item in its own rights. I have to admit I was proud of myself for getting on the band wagon and collecting CARS when they first appeared on the market. With the exception of a couple of sets, the Launchers, and some other items, I have all the original Desert backgrounds, the SuperCharged sets, and the newer CARS on the WOC card, I have all of them. I chose not to go back and buy all the older cars on the WOC card.

    The book was well written and easy to follow. This book is a great buy! Grab it before it goes into its second printing.

    (METROXING: Thanks for the nice words Tony!)

  10. Tony

    Now that I think about it my son was only 5 at the time I started the collection – not 6.

  11. JPKHERD

    Got home from Easter Vacation yesterday and my new Cars book was waiting for us. We pulled the suitcases from the car and then my son and I snuck off to read (view) is from cover to cover. Great job!

    It was kind of like therapy!

    JPKHERD

    (METROXING: Thanks! If you get a chance to leave a review at LULU, that would be great – thanks!)

  12. thankyou for this site. I have found it invaluable, i have been trying to get the full collection and its now working out to be rather expensive ( e bay- nothing available in wales ), iv’e since learned that im not the only grown up to have this bug….. not looking foreward to the day my little one wants to open them ( i told the wife they were for her )

    (METROXING: Good luck! Take a look at the sealed cases if you still have catching up to do – shipping is not cheap but with the exchange rate, everything on sale :-) )

  13. Paul Brake

    Great book, absolutely great. It would be nice if I could read it though, the father-in-law borrowed it, fired up eBay and I’ve still not had a chance yet – two months on! Might have to buy another one.

    Keep up the good work.

    Thanks,

    Paul.


    (MET: Thanks!)

  14. Hi Paul

    Please can you send the cars things to me ok
    I love them

    By James

Leave a Reply

