Mattel Disney Pixar CARS: Mini’s Playsets Coming Next (Summer 2008)

First, yes, the Screamin’ Banshee is considered a Mini Adventures vehicle …

If you look closely, Screamin’ Banshee’s front/mouth scoops up CARS (up to 5 at a time) and then expels them off to the side …

Here is a screenshot – as you can see, the Mini Adventures Screamin’ Banshee is so huge – he’s in scale to both Mini Mater & 1:55 Mater … just that you lose the “Mini CARS eating” feature …

Available at Amazon & Children’s Toy Closet.com.

There are also three new playsets coming for the Mini’s line – you’ve seen some photos at Toyfair – here are some shots without the distracting background.

And yes, Lizzie seems an odd choice to include with the Wheel Well Motel playset though somewhere the listings says Sally so the photo might be wrong.

In addition, there will be a box set of the Mini’s called “Crusin’ with Flo,” (Christmas time?):

“… contains 6 favorite Radiator Springs characters. Hang out with Mater, Lightning McQueen, Doc, Sally, Flo and Ramone all in their original decos as they get ready to roll onto more fun Mini Adventures™!”

34 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Checklist, collecting, Film, Internet, Marketing, Mattel Disney Pixar CARS, Media, Retail, Toys, TV

34 responses to “Mattel Disney Pixar CARS: Mini’s Playsets Coming Next (Summer 2008)

  1. jackdaddy2008

    Im just gonna customise Jack a sarges hut for his 1.55s and a sally cozy cone. The minis suck in my opinion. Im bitter that they give us these but can’t even get the 1.55s right. Minis are everywhere in the uk, but don’t sell anything near like the 1.55s did/do, but we just never see new 1.55s like in the sates. I can probably buy all the minis ever released in one day from uk stores.

    Monica – did you say you need easter ones or something? I bet I can get you them.

  2. jackdaddy2008

    I love Banshee though, hes gettin bought.

  3. megaheat2008

    The BANSHEE is extreme we can’t get enough growling in – in a play session LOL…. my son at 2 1/2 has me opening up all his pit row racers and goes for more I love it !!!! (we only,I BOUGHT THE ORIGINAL 6) BUT WOW MEGAHEAT2008 & KIDS ARE ZOOMING ——–>ANYONE HAVE EXTRA GAS? LOL….. NO , NO NOT THAT GAS YOU CAN BOTTLE IT, THE OTHER GAS **COFFEE** “I NEED IT TO KEEP UP WITH THE KIDS LOL….

  4. jackdaddy2008

    You sir, are a literary genius.

    I think your posts are poetic.

    Poetry for the generation x.

  5. Heather from Maine

    Thanks for the info and photos Met!

    The new Mini sets are really nice. I like how the sets fold up so small. Also like that the cars will have their original decos.

    I wish they would do more sets for the 1.55s. It would be great to have Sarge’s Surplus, Filmore’s Organic Fuel place, Sally’s Cozy Cone motel, Mater’s Tow Yard, Doc’s place and a fire station for Red.

    Do you think they will make more sets for the 1.55s?

    Also, do you think the Banshee can gobble up the 1.55s?

    Thanks!

    (MET: I would think there might be playsets for the 1:55 but it’s hard to tell … people fought like cats and dogs and drove up pricing to $75 when they weren’t out … now that they are out, they seem to sell slowly so … not sure now … I think that Banshee can scoop with 1:55 Mater but I think the part where he slides in to trigger the sound effects is too smal to fit anyone but MINI Mater – anyone with Banshee confirm?)

  6. megaheat2008

    Why JACKDADDY2008, well sir, I thankyou!!! AND METROXING much thanks to you !!! Well now my world is sound asleep, Me dad needs his rest also for at DAWN “THE HUNT MUST CONTINUE”, AAHHH SHHHOOOO YEP I AM A SATURDAY WORKER IT BITES BUT THE PLUMBER CAN ONLY SET THE TOILET RIGHT? BUT IT DOES’NT MEAN I CAN’T MAKE MY WEEKEND WARRIOR ROUNDS – HARK IN THE DISTANCE I SMELL THE FIERCEST, ENGINE INTAKE,PARDON MY EXHAUST I’M GONE SHOPPING – OK GUYS ARE YOU CATCHING THE DRILL, (DUCK) <—-CLOSE ONE LOL… YEPPER THE USUAL WAL-MART K-MART TOYS R US AND OF COURSE KB TOYS AND INCLUDE BOSCOVS (THIS OF COURSE AFTER WORK) SHOPPING MALLS NOT ONE BUT TWO<—–AFTER ALL THAT DRIVING I’LL NEED TRANSBERRY JUICE TO QUENCH MY THIRST HEY LIGHTNING (AS IN MCQUEEN) ARE YOU READY? OH YEAHHH !!!! “KACHOW”!!!!

  7. megaheat2008

    OH I WILL SAY THE BANSHEE SCOOPS UP 6 MINI’S WITH EASE AS FAR AS THE 1:55 NO GO TO BIG FOR THE TURNING CATCH WHEEL IN BANSHEE BUT NONE THE LESS AS SCALE GOES TO IMAGINE -W- KIDS THERE GETTING GOBBLED UP (1:55) <—–“YOU BETTER RUN”!!!! P.S. IF YOU BUY “BANSHEE” IT CONFIRMS ONLY TO USE MINIS BUT ANYTHING LIKE MATER OR FILLMORE TO LARGE 4 “BANSHEE” TO INTAKE<—- HOPE THIS HELPS OUT-to be cont…….

  8. Monica

    These are really great, I love them. I’ve been wanting a Sarge’s. Hope my Banshee arrives soon.

    Yes JD, I would really love the Fillmore’s Festival line. But I think they may have been Target exclusives for Easter. I missed that boat :(

  9. jackdaddy2008

    Jack won’t mind, Banshee didn’t actually ‘gobble anyone up’ anyway. Hes just misunderstood.

  10. jackdaddy2008

    Monica, how much do they go for on ebay?

    I don’t buy them, so email a little list and I will do my best.

  11. Harry B

    I’m going to buy these sets, just to add to the actual die-cast line

  12. Noel

    jack,

    I thought you were selling off all your Cars merchandise in disgust of the SoS debacle?

  13. jackdaddy2008

    Noel, once the carded collection is done, its gone, I have an offer for a complete collection, but need a few more. The buyer is making it worth my while shipping these from the states, but Jack is obviously keeping his opened collection.

  14. Noel

    I know this is non-mini cars related but I was looking at eBay today for SoS auctions, it appears there are only about half a dozen complete set and a lot of individual cars for sale.

    I think the people who were holding out for pricing to come back down are getting frustrated as bidding is quickly approaching the $900 area on the few remaining sets.

    The Apple car has reached $160+ and the next most expensive individual car has been Tach-O-Mint at $40+. Tank Coat has fetched over $35 a couple times. I did see an Apple #84 Buy it Now at $299.00.

    (MET: Yep, life in CARS Collecting land is never dull …).

  15. Monica

    Hey Noel, didn’t we have a guessing pool on most popular (highest bid) single Cars out of the set?

    I think Tach O Mint was on my list. He is super cute.

  16. Noel

    Yes, I lost. I thought Transberry Juice, N2O Cola, and Shifty Drug would fetch the most. I did see a Shifty Drug over $30.00 though.

    (MET: I thought like a logical person – silly me … :-) I figured the Apple CAR might sell for around $75 and the others in the $25 range … but apparently logic would have only bought me a ticket to YOU ARE NOT THE HIGH BIDDER-ville …).

  17. Rebecca

    I was lucky enough to get Tach O Mint for $30.00, but that was because I don’t think they knew what he would go up to on Ebay if they waited longer… Oh well their loss and my gain….

  18. jackdaddy2008

    Shill bidding?

    A lot more than 6 sets didn’t sell for the ridiculous prices going now.

    I think/know some sellers are saving until Christmas.

  19. Heather from Maine

    I went to TRU today and saw the Banshee! Very cool! Love the growling and the light up eyes!

    I resisted the urge to buy it right then and there. I’ll wait for Amazon to ship the Banshee to us.

    No new Cars found! (sigh)

    The search continues….

  20. I really love your post…and the Banshee of course! Hope I could get some… :D

  21. RichardP

    I’m in So. Cal. and found Banshees at TRU last weekend!

    Monica – I found a Sarge this weekend, in its SC package. Guess its kinda rare now, and not cheap :(

    (MET: Is WM cleaning out the backrooms? Someone here in NoCal told me they found a Sarge on the shelf also …)

  22. msully

    Banshees at TRU this weekend? Sweet.

    Awesome Sarge score Richard! I still have my OG Sarge, but he’s been out of the package since we bought him. We had the good luck of having a non-recalled version.

    I hope they rerelease him someday.

  23. TowMater69

    I just bought the Banshee for my boys this weekend while on vacation in Ohio and they love it!.
    However, the Screaming Banshee requires three button cell (AG13,LR44) batteries. The batteries included are for demonstration purposes only. WTF!
    Mattel asks that you either recycle the batteries or return them to Mattel using a pre-paid label (I wonder if they will re-use the ‘demonstration’ batteries in the next round of Banshees?)

  24. djbennett22

    IN THE CHILL OF THE NIGHT AT THE SCENE OF THE CRIME SPI- SPI- SPI- DELIVERY GUY!

  25. Nicole H

    I am definately gonna have to hit TRU tonight and see if I can get my hands on a Banshee. The highway I take to get there has been closed due to the flooding here in Iowa. I did finally find Stacy at WM and there were about 20 of them! Was there again today and none left but there were still some Trunk Fresh’s.

    (MET: NOW that’s CARS dedicated, honey, I’m taking the power boat to TRU, you can take the jetski to Lowe’s, right? :-) … all kidding aside, hope you’re all doing okay out there in the Midwest. Stay dry!)

  26. RichardP

    Met – not at WM. Found him at the LA Roadster Show. There are always vendors there selling car related stuff, and this vendor had CARS, Matchbox and plastic models for sale. And they knew what they had; they made sure I was a collector and would not open the package, possible lead paint problems you know! There was also a happy face Dale Earnhardt car.
    But CARS are everywhere if you keep your eyes open. The local supermarket has a bunch of Lizzies on the old SC card. Need one?

  27. Nicole H

    Met-thanks! Luckily my part of town did not get flooded too bad . A trailer park down the street was under water and the street to the highway along with the highway! Today is the first day I got to say yes to my son about going to the toy store in over a week!

  28. collectormom

    I hope they do commercials again for Mini Adventures. The 2 they had last fall (I think it was then) were cute. My boys would freak out every time they saw them. Good thing we have a DVR; I could rewind over and over and over and over………

  29. Donnie

    Met,
    been awhile since I last chatted…..still check up on the site daily though. I was wondering if you or anybody has a checklist of the mini’s? I have a ton of em but would like to know what all is out and if I have em all. You can email me back or add my email address to post so anyone who may know can email me!

    (MET: Not a spreadsheet checklist but might be easier as Mini’s are not named like regular ones).

  30. Nicole H

    So I was at WM last night-of course no new cars and no MM at all. But they did have a value pack of Mini’s . 3 of them for only $10.94. Now why would people pay $16.00 for 3 of them when you could get 3 in the value pack for less?? So of course I grabbed one that had a few my son didn’t already have. An entire back endcap was completely full of them and another endcap was pegged with all singles. Lots of Blimp-newest I saw was 1 Stacy.

  31. collector by marriage

    I have a question…
    I have a mini adventures with ramone and flo in it that is a radiator springs fire department series….and today at WM i bought a value pack with the same ramone and flo in it but it is a race rods series…. is one an error?

    (MET: That is an oddity in the series – they are pictured on the back of different cards as BOTH … so whether that’s laziness or some oddball scheme to sell it both …).

  32. Heather from Maine

    I saw the Mini Cars value packs at WM today. You get three 2-pks. for $10.94+tx.

    I picked up a pack that had RS Fire Dept: Red & Doc, Team LMcQ: Doc & McQ and Boot Camp: Sally & Mater.

    What’s nice about the value packs besides the price is that the packs have different combinations of the 2-pks. So I was able to find at least one value pack that contained three 2-pks I didn’t already have.

    Nice deal!!!

  33. Nicole H

    We opened the one I bought yesterday and the only comment my son had was “Mommy we should have bought the one with LM in it too.” He is only 3 and thinks like he’s 10!

  34. james

    can anyone help i bought a blu ray mcqueen. it has 1348ea underneath. is it real? before everybody screams fake! thats what i thought, but, try and find a mcqueen with this number. also i have read that an italian magazine recently gave some as a reward or prize. also the seller is a power seller and is adament its real. to look at it i cant see any differences. if its real then there are now more than 15000 heeeeeeeeeeeeeelllllpppppp. its driving me nuts.

    (MET: ANSWER HERE)

Leave a Reply

