Mattel Pixar Disney Cars: Visual Checklist 2008 (CARS 1-4 UPDATE)

multi.jpg

What do you think? I’ll start a visual checklist of each CAR in numeric order every few days – you can drag off and bubble in as a checklist. You can paste it into a journal/moleksin? One side for OPEN and one for SEALED. There’s no real way to add all the cards without making it too massive so it’ll just be the first card the CAR appears? What do you think. Give me your feedback and I can fix, I can quit or better yet, tell me your stories about the first time you saw the CAR or some reminiscing and I’ll add it to the bottom. Let me know what you think?

mcqchecklist2.png

Part II of ______

book-ad.jpg

Here’s PART/CAR #3 & 4. Instead of starting a new post, I’ll just tack it onto here … otherwise, seems too short to start a new post.

Again, be glad to add European info, send me any lists, even a partial and I’ll try and assemble some semblance …

20 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Film, Marketing, Retail, Toys, TV

20 responses to “Mattel Pixar Disney Cars: Visual Checklist 2008 (CARS 1-4 UPDATE)

  1. Would this be the 100th Cars checklist or the 101st Cars checklist?

    (METROXING: The Albanian one would be the 101st, ths one is just the 64th 🙂 )

  2. Patrick

    I like it!!

  3. Stanley

    These are KIDS toys, right? Every car that I have bought have been for my kids, and they’ve played with every one.

    They don’t care if the King or McQueen they are playing with came from a two-pack, three-pack or the eventual nine-pack with bonus Snot Rod.

  4. Janice

    Stanley, first of all, shut the hell up.

    Second, these can be considered KIDS toys, but they are also COLLECTED by a lot of ADULTS who would appreciate this checklist.

    If these are only for your kids, what the hell are you doing on this blog? In case you didn’t get the hint, you’re not welcome here.

    (METROXING: Janice, we’re perfectly fine with Stanley’s comments 🙂 everyone is here for whatever reason, we welcome everyone … no name calling or fist fights is all we ask … 🙂 )

  5. Jeanne

    I bought your book, but it’s so nice I don’t want to write in it!! This checklist would be awesome!!!!

  6. Stanley

    Woah, Janice! What did I do to you? I just wanted to state that maybe we’re getting too serious about this stuff.

    For the record, I have been visiting this site for news about the Cars releases, especially the Speedway of the South set.

    And, I used to collect Hot Wheels and Matchbox. So, I can understand the desire to collect these. I’m not putting anyone down for that.

    Sorry that I upset you, but you don’t have to attack me. And who are you to tell me that I’m not welcome here?

  7. Bill

    Janice needs to learn to express herself on this site without the profanity. And Stanley, you have every right to express your opinion on this site without getting cussed out.

  8. Nancy

    I am almost 60 yrs old with three grown children and seven grandchildren (five by birth and two by love adoption). I LOVED the movie and enjoyed it with my grandkids. I am a collector at heart with collections of bears, sea shells, books, and iris items. So….it made perfect sense to collect Cars when McD’s had them in the Happy Meals. Then it was diecast and now it’s mini’s. My love adopted 4 yr old granddaughter and I play with the mini’s and playsets like crazy. She respects my collection of diecasts and we’re both perfectly happy. Don’t lose the kid in you just because you get a few years on you. Life’s too short and there’s too much fun to have!!

    And I think the picture checklist is a great idea!! Go for it–I for one will eat it up.

    (METROXING: Thanks. Shhh, don’t bring up the Mini’s … I already have 98 CARS to work on 🙂 )

  9. Paulo Castanho

    Excellent idea. If you need some help, let me know

  10. Jurgen B (Belgium)

    The mini’s are cute though, my 2y-old daughter absolutely loves playing with them… also bought the checklist book from Lulu, absolutely lovely, great work, I think I’m gonna keep it for myself 😉

    (METROXING: Thanks, glad you enjoyed the book!)

  11. Chuck

    If memory serves, didn’t “plain old” Lightning also come with the folding figure-8 race track, and in hte five-car and seven-car Piston Cup box sets, and sometimes with both the “Bachelor Pad” Mack playset and the Mack Transporter? Or am I being too complete…

    (METROXING: Yea, the checklist only includes blister packs, not enough time now to go back and include everything …)

  12. Melissa

    Great idea! It will even help those of us that aren’t true completists as far as the card backs are concerned, but want each set.

  13. Richard

    Great idea, can’t wait for more. Would you be able to add the European edition to the list?

    (METROXING: Would be glad to … maybe a master list to work from? Anyone in Europe who wants to help out – does the European release match the US list? Take a look at the our US checklist. Export & Check them off or just copy and email me what you have for each of the cards? – metroxing (at) gmail.com. Thanks).

  14. Nancy

    Patrick has some photos that made me wonder if anyone has seen a sun shade for regular cars that have the CARS “eyes.”

    (METROXING: Here’s a shocker, you can find one one on eBay 🙂 Not sure how “rare” it is … It looks like it’s from the State Farm Tour giveaway (scroll down for info). If you want to go into the import business, this place can hook you up …

    Here’s a photo of the one from China on our FLIKR page.

    Problem is I think they were probably available in the summer of 2006 but maybe not so obviously popular now … who knows, it could be back since it’s getting closer to summer or you can into the import business yourself 🙂 I’ve checked around with a some companies and will let you know if I get a positive answer).

    I remember seeing these (UK eBay) but not as cool.

  15. PC

    Regarding the the European List I can help, with the ones that was/are selling in Portugal.

    (METROXING: Thanks Paulo, got your list!)

  16. Paulo Castanho

    Sorry the double post, but the previous post is from me but with a diferent signature. Sorry

  17. Sarah

    Is the # you will have the Cars listed in the # from the back of the WOC cards? I’ve been trying to make a checklist myself using the cardbacks but not all the #’s have been listed yet.

    (METROXING: Yea, I figured that was as good as any – if I actually catch up to the 70 numbers out so far, I’ll go in alpha order for CARS that don’t have numbers assigned (yet). MM CARS that do not get a single release have not been assigned numbers).

  18. Sarah

    It’s a miracle!! I just got Flik/PT Flea on Walmart.com! I think I check that site 20 times a day to see if it’s available. I checked again not even 5 minutes after I ordered it (site to store pickup too so free shipping) and it shows it’s out of stock again. It pays to “have” OCD! Now maybe it’ll pay off on the TRU website for Dinoco Mia/Tia. At least TRU offers to send you an email when the item you want is available.
    BTW I think the checklist is a great idea. Even though I’m not a completist it’s interesting to see all the changes since the first release. Now I’m curious about the Evergreen series you mentioned; can Mattel keep momentum going for 4 more years? I need to go to Ikea again and pick up more shelves for my kids Cars!

    (METROXING: Congrats! Only 1 to a case so your odds were pretty remote – nice work! As for “evergreen,” that’s of course the nickname given to any toy line that produces profit year after year … especially when it’s a licensed movie … but besides the biggie Star Wars and Transformers, there are others like Star Trek & TMNT … the CARS movie is the first and only diecast line to such a huge degree of success with such a variety of cars … the only one remotely close might be James Bond … of course, there are beloved cars that will always sell as individuals such as Speed Racer, Batman & Back to the Future or even Dukes of Hazzard … but beyond the core car … it’s much iffier when there’s not a huge movie surrounding it).

  19. Pingback: Mattel Pixar Disney Cars: Visual Checklist 2008 (Part II) « TWO A DAY

Leave a Reply

