Mattel Disney Pixar CARS: CARS Cube is Back at Wal-Mart

mcq-doc.jpg

By the way, Wal Mart calls the area in front/near toys – The Action Alley Display area … makes linoleum sound pretty exciting, huh? Wal Mart loves them because by maneuvering a pallet from the back room to the floor, removing some poly wrap – it’s a DISPLAY!

This is the first one we’ve had in Wal-Mart blue versus CARS red … who is collecting the WM display cubes? :-) So Don’t complain you need shelf space for all the CARS, just be glad you’re not collecting display pallets!

As you might’ve noticed, it’s packed full of Pit Row Race Off Launchers on one side with two new ones as launchers: RPM & No Stall and new outside the Speedway Set, TRUNK FRESH at $7.94 … (already marked down from the Speedway set at $8.30 ;-) ) – and here you get a launcher also. While some of you poo-poo the whole launcher branch of the line, it’s actually very sturdy & a solid piece of kit. The first two waves were less enticing but now for those who didn’t want the Motor Speedway set or for those who are keeping the Speedway set snug in their plastic cocoon’s or who lost their Trunk Fresh in the great vacuum tragedy of May 23, 2008, your replacement CAR awaits you at WM along with a launcher.

On the other side of the cube are what seems to be the equivalent of CASE M:

Al Oft the Lightyear Blimp
Bling Bling Lightning McQueen
Bug Mouth Lightning McQueen
Charlie Checker
Chick Hicks
Cruisin’ Ramone
Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Doc Hudson
Hydraulic Ramone
Lightning McQueen
Pit Crew Member Guido
Radiator Springs McQueen
Sheriff
Stacy (Leakless Pitty)
Wingo
Yeti

Stacy (Leakless Pitty) is the only really new CAR (available in NEW and blank, of course). Al Oft is new to WOC card as is Hydraulic Ramone. I did not see a version of Al Oft with the NEW snipe but if following the pattern of the other WM 8 re-releases holds true, there should be one.

You’re probably also wondering where CASE K is since K generally precedes M … well, they should be hitting the shelves and floor also in the next couple weeks. Since, the new price increase hits on June 1, no reason to empty the warehouses before then :-) so whether the WM passes along the price increase, that remains to be seen … (we have seen :-( )I think Target & TRU are generally quicker to pass new wholesale costs along.

So, in a few days or not much later after that, look for CASE K:

Bug Mouth McQueen (2)
Chuki
Crusin’ Lightning McQueen
Darrell Cartrip
Dinoco Helicopter
Dudley Spare
Ferrari F430
Lightning Ramone
Luke Pettlework (
Dinoco Pitty) (2)
Pit Crew Member Fabulous Hudson Hornet
Pit Crew Member Guido
Race Official Tom
Ramone
Tongue Lightning McQueen
Van (2)

Truly NEW – of course, the much anticipated VAN (coolest looking minivan ever) and Luke Pettlework (Dinoco Pitty).

AND before June ends, we should see Case P:

Bug Mouth McQueen
Fabulous Hudson Hornet
Fillmore
Kathy Copter (3)
Mario Andretti
Petrol Pulaski (RPM #64 Pitty) (3)
Race Official Tom
Radiator Springs McQueen
Ramone-Yellow

Tongue Lightning McQueen
Tar Lighting McQueen (3)
Van

If you need photos of any of the new solo card releases – check out this post.

And in the words of Bachman-Turner AND Overdrive, “You ain’t see nothin’ yet.”

Lots more stuff coming, CARS ain’t no opera – no fat lady singing.

CARS: Now & Forever (You Will Never Be Caught Up!)

From “Mike,” photos that will just set our European readers on edge … CARS all over the place and in USD $2.97 …

The other two sides of the Cube are the Stunt CARS (above) and the new Mack Transporter with the 3 Tuners.

It looks like there are plenty of Stacy in each shipment so getting one shouldn’t be too much of a problem. And since Trunk Fresh & No Stall are a few bucks more, they won’t fly off as fast. Enjoy! Good luck!

47 Comments

Filed under Advertising, Checklist, collecting, Film, Marketing, Mattel Disney Pixar CARS, Retail, Toys, TV

47 responses to “Mattel Disney Pixar CARS: CARS Cube is Back at Wal-Mart

  1. Jeff

    Got Trunk Fresh and No Stall Launchers and Dale Jr. which I did not have yet. No Stacys at my Wal-Mart (in Alabama) and the pallet was still full when I got there early last Sunday morning. They must have just put it out. Maybe the stockers have all of the Stacys.

    (MET: Must be the case because that’s pretty much all the “new” on the cube … sorry to hear it …hope there’s another near by … with the amount shipped and at @$8, I can’t imagine a real run on the launchers … I take it Dale Jr. is smiley Dale Jr.?)

  2. Matt

    Alright MET…. I have been dying to ask this question, but have seriously thought I am losing it… what is Bug Face McQueen, and how different is he from Bug Mouth McQueen? Do you have a pic to show?

    At least it looks like we are in for a half a dozen new cars in the next couple of months. Throw in LS MQ, and we are finally back to cruising speed!!

    (MET: Oops, did I write Bug Face? My tired-a** error …)

  3. Rebecca

    Still waiting to find this in Colorado Springs, CO

  4. Bill

    The WM pallet here in NC also did not have Stacy when it was put out. One store is always a week ahead of the others. A couple just emptied the box to the pegs. And the other area stores have not put it out but said they show 100 singles due by 6/6.

  5. collectormom

    Yesterday this display was up; today not so much. The WM by me already took it down to put in pool supplies! And to make matters worse it didn’t even have Stacy or the Trunk Fresh Launcher.

    Matt, I think Mattel renamed Bug Mouth McQueen to Bug Face McQueen.

    (MET: Already down? Crazy?! For chlorine? – come one, who’s not going to buy that? … I think me made a mistake on Bug Mouth, I have a tendency to call him Bug Face and I think I finally have stopped calling Sully … Scully …).

  6. Martin

    Dumb question, but are the cases released at the same time worldwide, or are you lucky Statesiders gonna be first?

    Was in my local ASDA (UK Supermarket/Hypermarket chain owned by Wal-Mart) yesterday and usual pegwarmers, apart from a couple of Yeti’s..

    My boy is going mad for the Pittys at the moment (or insert-name-of-car-here’s “tyres”) and keeps going “I want Kings Tyres”…hopefully we can solve that soon!

    (MET: I’m sure they’re starting to think about sending you guys some and will get around to it in a few months – sorry … you did get Vinyl Toupee & Flea & Flik before us? We won’t bring up the other 138).

  7. Jeff

    Random question

    I just opened movie moments Woody and buzz and buzz’s helmet is not attached. Is this the way it ships?

    Thanks
    Jeff

  8. Jeff

    I found another post on here where you confirm that the loose helmet is correct. Again your site answers my questions

    Thanks
    Jeff

  9. Daniel

    My local (Seattle area) WM’s and Target’s are fully stocked with cases M, K and P as listed above. I didn’t see the new WM display tho’. I found a bunch of Dale Jr.’s, I take it this one is no longer a hard-to-find? Or did I FINALLY get some luck? I only saw one Ghostlight Ramone over my trip to 2 WM’s and 3 Targets and 1 TRU.

    (MET: So, you found all the “new” CARS? in K & P?)

  10. HAVEAGOODDAY

    “Appearing for the first time on WOC, one of the coolest CARS and car in real life, the Ferrari F430.”

    May I asked why you say first time on WOC.. this car I have it on WOC since ages.. I can’t remember the case it was in.. but I can surely send you a picture!

    (MET: Oops, you’re right – fixed. Forgot about D case – been so long ago :-) )

  11. Will V

    Just got back from WM and the blue display in my local store is for KUNG FU PANDA

    They did have a re-release of the Mack Transporter with DJ, Snot Rod, and Wingo included, with the WOC logo.

    (MET: The larger stores also have a Hulk display & an Indiana Jones display).

  12. msully

    My WalMart was a bust as usual, don’t know why I bother really. No “Action alley” display. But they did have the flipping cars on the pegs and a fair amount of singles (tons of Ghostlight Ramones) and some launchers (I do not collect those), but the most interesting of the launchers was RPM. Then again, I did wait until Sunday night before going, too busy the rest of the weekend playing in the sun.

  13. Jeff

    Ok, so after another Wal-Mart visit today, here is my full report. Last Sunday, I walked in to the Wal-Mart just down the street from my house early in the morning and found the full pallet. No Stacy, but both new launchers and lots of Dale Jr. (yes, the smiley one). We went to Destin, FL for the week and no Wal-Mart in that area had the pallet out. Last night I went to my local Wal-Mart again. The pallet is still there, but almost all of the launchers including all of the new ones are gone and the singles are almost all gone too. Today I went to a Wal-Mart across town. Found the pallet, it had just been put out. Full of Stacy, but no Dale Jr., the opposite of what I had found before. All the new launchers were there too. Can’t find Chuki anywhere. My little boy is loving the new launchers.

    (MET: Yea, the launchers are actually quite nice – well designed and built and even with repair instructions when the highly sophisticated propellant energy transfer system needs re-setting (ie: thick rubber band ;-) Chuki is in one of the next shipments which should hit in a week or less).

  14. Jeff

    WM is so random about the way they put things out in different stores. Two stores 15 miles apart put out the same pallet a week apart. Others stock it on the shelf and never put the pallet out at all. Ughh.

  15. carsrmom

    oohhh dang it!
    I took a road trip this weekend, I live in Northern Ca. My husband and I typically hit all the Wal-Marts between here and Redding when we go on out trip. Well, tonight, we stopped at 5 different WM’s and not one had the display!!!! And no sign of any stacys or new launchers!!!
    Dang it, stinkin Cali walmarts!!

  16. DaddyO

    I’m thinking of launching a class-action law suit against Mattel and Disney for selling a product that they know is dangerous to our wallets and even more so to our sanity and that is inherently addictive. Of course finding a credible witness among the lot of us might prove difficult as no one here (and I include myself) seems sane enough to testify in a court of law, but I’ll deal with that if…er when… it comes up.
    Anybody else with me on this? Jackdaddy2008 – you can start the running list of those interested in being part of the law suit and I will let people pay my retainer fee on e-bay (paypal only please).
    MET – you’re my star witness so don’t make any travel plans…please raise your right hand and place your left hand on the ‘Mattel Pixar Disney Cars Checklist: The Book’ – do you swear to tell the truth the whole truth and and nothing but the truth so help you Cars?

    (MET: I would be a great witness … though I reserve the right to fold like a cheap deck of cards if Mattel offers me a photo of a possible diecast coming out … so by all means, build your case around me :-) ).

  17. Fred

    Met,
    Question, why is it that Mattel seems so intent on cramming Lightning, King, Chick, etc. the same old cars down our throats. I mean why include these cars with the Re-volting car other than to stick it to us and make us buy these cars again. Stacy and (Petrol) are supposed to come in a 3-packs with Leakless (RPM) and their Crew Chiefs, but I’m sure Stacy (Petrol) won’t have the wheels and tool chest in the 3 pack, so we’ll have to buy the individual and the 3 pack. I understand Mattel is in business to make money, but when it is so blatantly obvious that they are intentionally screwing their customers, it becomes more than a little ridiculous. I collected Star Wars action figures in the 70′s and 80′s when I was a kid, and this stuff didn’t go on, and we still bought everything we could get our hands on. There were no shortages, delays, cancellations, multi-packs, etc. You just went to the store and bought the toy which was sitting there on the shelf with plenty for everyone. This is just my little rant, but I would be curious to hear your take on Mattel’s actions and behaviour with regards to this.

  18. DaddyO

    MET, you can be bought off for pretty cheap…I wouldn’t throw the case for anything less than a blu-ray and a Ransburg .

  19. CHRIS

    WELL BOTH THE WALMARTS IN NORTHERN MICHIGAN DO NOT HAVE OR HAVE NOT PUT THE BLUE CARS CUBES OUT YET?
    WHY?????????????????????

    (MET: WM is all over the board – normally here in NoCal, we’re last for anything but in this case, surprisingly, they’re early but not in every store … so you can ask? Or in some cases, they just loaded them on the shelves).

  20. Nicole H

    I have been to two different WM that usually have the cubes out and there has been nothing 3 days in a row. The pegs are almost empty yet they have a half of one of those huge wire baskets crammed full with cars. Last week we got there right after they must have filled it and scored 3 Dale Jr’s and 2 Chuki’s. No MM and only 2 Launchers.

  21. jackdaddy2008

    I have been busy this week, but managed to get round –

    3 Sainsburys
    1 Asda
    2 woolworths
    Disney store
    John Lewis
    Jenners

    Guess what?

    No new cars!

    Supercharged everywhere, and Jenners/John Lewis have had the same Cars for 4 months now!

    Disney store was healthy, but only pit crew doc/filmore are new, all the rest were woc, but painfully the usual suspects.

    Woolworths had 3 cars – Lightning Mcqueen, Green Ramone, and Ferrari.

    So I counted all the WOC in the 3 sainsburys too, guess how many?

    7!

    All supercharged.

    I hope this is the calm before the storm and we get a smash n grab soon like we did when Fred, Andretti and co came out, but I fear it is increasingly likely Cars will be dropped from Uk retail soon.

  22. Steve, AKA: Poppa

    The cube display has hit Wal*Mart today! Full of the Stacy’s, Dale’s, and launchers. Nice to see some older castings back in the lot for the kids- Sheriff, Doc Hudson. Expect them to disappear fast. By the looks of the aisles in most retail stores Speed Racer toys are a bust. Wall-e should not take up too much peg space. Indiana Jones and Hulk have their space. Pretty soon retailers should be back to what sells. The biggest boost to keep this toy line alive is the inclusion of concept in the theme parks.

  23. CHRIS

    MY WIFE AND I KEEP CHECKING THE WALMARTS HERE IN NORTHERN MICHIGAN BUT STILL NO LUCK. ONE DAY WE WILL SEE THE NEW STACEY! NOT TO CONDERNED ABOUT THE NEW LAUNCHERS BECAUSE WE HAVE’EM ALL ALREADY. ONE QUESTION IS MATTEL GOING TO RELEASE THE APPLE I-CAR? OR JUST KEEP IT AT 1000 PIECES.

    (MET: My guess is yes but I highly doubt a single release is in order since they would sell the blazes out of them – I suspect it will be in a 4-pack with three repeats like the upcoming Race & Chase box or of course, do a RL Club exclusive with the Pit Crew, Chief & trailer – call it $99.99).

  24. milo

    no cubes…@ pomona wallmart or brea…as of yesterday..old stock in the stores as well…local targets, TRU and mattel outlet in pomona a bust over the weekend….TRU has lots of sallys and ramones

  25. Thekid

    Madison, WI:
    The westside WM has nothing yet. This doesn’t surprise me in that it seems we are always about 1 or 2 weeks behind Metromix’s sitings. Haven’t checked the big one nor the eastside in a few days…I will on Friday and report (if anyone says they live in Madison).

    Chicago, IL (North Shore)
    Any sitings from anyone living in Southernmost suburbs bordering the city’s North Side? I’m going to visit my parents this weekend and will report on the stores I visit (if anyones says they live in the area).

  26. Daniel

    Sorry, I’m an idiot opener. I didn’t see ‘Van’ or ‘Luke Pettlework’ at any of the stores.

    (MET: Hey, I’m an opener, you callin’ me an idiot? :-) … Van or Luke are about to hit the stores).

  27. Doug

    The stores around San Diego do not have ANY new ones! I have yet to see the cube at Wal-Mart, and I have checked about 4 different ones! This is getting very frustrating!

  28. jackdaddy2008

    Welcome to the UK bud, nice of you to join us, albeit 8 months later! haha.

    Its dying isn’t it?

  29. Dana

    I was wondering if anyone knew if the cubes hit any of the Walmart Stores in the Quad City Area. I’m in Bettendorf, Iowa and have not seen any yet.

  30. Rebecca

    Walmart in Colorado Springs didn’t have the display box ever, but did stock them on the shelf like some other people mentioned. Didn’t find Stacy, but did find 3 Trunk Fresh and 3 No stall left….

  31. msully

    Doug, I haven’t seen any of the new cases or WM “action alley” displays in the San Diego area WM or TGT either, nor has Bonita Bill. As soon as I do, I am posting here :).

  32. Annie

    Hey guys, havent seen them yet either here in Nc. But I did get soooo lucky to finally get myself a dale and chuki, I am pyched. When it comes to cars I guess I am a purest. I am addicted, I am addicted to off to Wally world I go at 2:38 in the morning again to scan the boxes. I know I know.

    Annie

  33. Jgallo52

    Are the trunk fresh available in So Cal? I have yet to see him. Thanks in advance

  34. Annie

    I have a question abt case M
    My walmart had 4 boxes of them but they didnt have any of the ones u listed for case M. Only 3 chukis per box, nothing else new. I am confused. So please let me know I am really trying to find some of the new ones and want to be ahead of the game.

    Annie

    (MET: M Case shouldn’t contain any Chuki, your WM may have cleared the shelf, some employee may have or someone combined cases in the back OR they received their K case and put that out … and probably Luke, Dinoco Pitty and Van are already gone?)

  35. Phil

    How come the Indiana Jones box is nice and detailed in the IJ color scheme, the Incredible Hulk box is green, but Cars is Wal-Mart Blue?

    (MET: Well, I think because it’s because there’s nothing really exclusive and WM probably asked for it to be in blue and if WM asks …).

  36. jackdaddy2008

    Because buying/collecting cars makes you feel blue?

  37. Thekid

    It seems all of the new Charlie Checker singles have the amber tail lights instead of the red ones with the WalMart exclusive.

    Met, you may or may not want to note this on the variants blog?

    (MET: Will update, thanks).

  38. Bill

    Annie,
    I was in a WM yesterday and the clerk brought out a case (already opened) that was in a Case G box but the contents did not match the Case G. So it does sound a little fishy about the M cases in your store. With some new releases starting to trickle out, the old switcheroo may be on in the back room. If the cardboard and the paper liners are not in the box, it’s a good bet. We are fortunate that the WMs in our area don’t have employee poachers. They all work for TGT & TRU around here.

  39. hawkeye

    Dana
    June 5, 2008 at 1:14 am

    I was wondering if anyone knew if the cubes hit any of the Walmart Stores in the Quad City Area. I’m in Bettendorf, Iowa and have not seen any yet.

    We have seen any in the Iowa Lakes area either. they are suppose to come out of a DC in Wisconsin.

  40. Edge

    I wish the WMs in Canada would throw their stupid Canadian rules and regulations out of the window, and just order some of these great “cubes”… so far over here, not one single sighting of Trunk Fresh, Al Oft or Stacy…

  41. My Name is Not Chuck

    In Kansas, I went to a WalMart, and although there is no “Action Alley” display, I found a load of Mack Transporters and singles, but no movie moments. I saw a bunch of Cruisin’/Ghostlight Ramones, Al Ofts, Bug Mouth McQueen, etc.

    As for the launchers, I was sucessful as I found all 3 new (RPM, No Stall, Trunk Fresh) of them. I didn’t know RPM was released yet as a launcher… But I knew it was coming.

    However, due to budget issues, I bought only the Trunk Fresh and No Stall launchers; the rest I had, except I held off on the transporter and RPM launcher.

  42. Terri

    My brother and I did a late night shopping spree last night. We hit several 24 hour WM in our area. I only found 1 with the cube. I asked at another one and he told me the cube was in the back but, it stated it could not be put out until the 26th. Not sure why but, this could explain why some stores have not put them out. Is it possible some cubes have different cases in them?

    I did however find several stores with case M cars. 1 store had 10 case M’s open just sitting on the floor waiting to be pegged. I could have bought 24 Stacy’s total last night. This was at the Reed Ave WM near SAC if anyone lives near there. I left most of them. I only bought what I needed. I found the Trunk Fresh and No Stall launcher too at another WM. They did not have too many though so I am not sure they were from the cube stock. All said it was a good night for me.

  43. lucie

    would like to see more of the new cars in the store, i’m still looking for some that came out last year.

  44. Doug

    Late last night at Wal-Mart, I found 3 M cases ready to be stocked, so I asked an employee, and she opened 1 for me, so I got 2 Stacys and Blimps. However, the bathroom was under maintenance, and when I asked if there was another one, the worker waved me off and said “Ai-yi-yi!” Oh well, at least I found the cars!

    (MET: So WM got more M cases, wonder if it’s to restock the Cube or if they’re just getting cases – since M is questionable as to whether it’s available outside WM – anyone seen Stacy or Al Oft in Target or TRU? Ay-yi-yi indeed :-) )

  45. shooter357

    I have been looking at the 2 WM im my area and they finally put out the pallet at one yesterday. Guess what, all the Stacys must have been picked over by the guys in the back room. not one to be found. Went to the 2nd WM and what do I find, No pallet but the product is on the pegs. At least I got what I went in for.

    (MET: Happy ending … not customer – picks up CARS display pallet in Hulk rage and drops on top of Toys department supervisor :-) though you’ve would’ve been a YouTube star :lol: )

  46. Rebecca

    Went to Walmart today in Colorado Springs, CO today and found tons of Stacy’s and Dale Jr’s today… My sons always needs four for each pit crew to simulate the movie.. Got lucky because he found 4 that he needed so we don’t have to keep looking….

  47. Monica

    Doug, are you San Diego Doug?? Which WM, I still have not seen any new cases anywhere. KB in UTC just got 9 new cases yesterday, but they appeared to just be the Chuki/Lightning Ramone cases, nothing new, still. I am getting frustrated.

Leave a Reply

