Goodbye George Carlin – Bye Fillmore

For US fans, HBO is offering the best tribute starting tomorrow …

“HBO will remember George Carlin this week with encore presentations of many of his HBO specials.  The specials span his association with the network, from his first HBO special (“George Carlin at USC”) to his last (“It’s Bad for Ya”).”

HBO2 will present 11 of his specials over two nights.  (all times ET/PT):

Wednesday, June 25

8:00 PM – George Carlin at USC (1977)
9:30 PM – George Carlin Again! (1978 )
11:00 PM – Carlin at Carnegie (1983)
MIDNIGHT – Carlin on Campus (1984)
1:00 AM – Playin’ with Your Head (1986)

Thursday, June 26
8:00 PM – What Am I Doing in New Jersey? (1988 )
9:00 PM – Doin’ It Again (1990)
10:00 PM – Jammin’ in New York (1992)
11:00 PM – Back in Town (1996)
12:05 AM – You Are All Diseased (1999)
1:00 AM – It’s Bad for Ya (2008 )

The entire LIFE IS WORTH LOSING is here at Google Video – check out the 4 1/2 minute intro – amazing if he was 28 but even more amazing at his age then …

(Language NSFW 🙂 )

For those without HBO, Google Video also has his first HBO special in its entirety along with an interview segment …

Of course, “Seven Words.”

“Stuff”

“Baseball & Football”

NY Times Obit

Bye George, Thanks for all the laughs.

7 Comments

Filed under Film, Media, TV

7 responses to “Goodbye George Carlin – Bye Fillmore

  1. megaheat2008

    “WITH A GREAT LAUGH,COMES A BIG SMILE” – MAY LAUGHTER RAIN DOWN UPON US FROM THE HEAVENS ABOVE “GOD BLESS GEORGE CARLIN”

  2. I’m 35, so watching Carlin on HBO as a kid I always felt like I was getting away with something I shouldn’t be watching. Little did I know that while making me laugh hysterically, he was teaching me to observe things from different perspectives and to question why thing are the way they are. He opened my eyes and my mind while keeping me in stitches on the floor.

    Carlin, Galagher & Robin Williams will forever be the pinnacle of stand-up comedy for me. Much can be said for Pryor and Eddie Murphy as well, but Carlin was the top for making me think as well as laugh.

    Filmore, like many voice choices in Cars, was the perfect casting. I fear we’re going to lose another great voice for Cars2 very soon with Paul Neuman’s health deteriorating.

    Thanks for the post, Met. Goodbye George, we’ll miss you!

  3. Monica

    The “stuff” bit was always one of my favorites.

    Vaya con dios George and thanks for all the laughs.

  4. Gary

    (MET-EDIT)

    It is for my 4 year old son he is a huge fan of the movie its the only car I know – No Stall 123 since he lost that one. I am really not a collector of these but he has everyone even if they are not in perfect condition. I could go on for days about him cause he was a sick baby but I wont if anyone has a extra they wanna sell please get in touch thanks Gary PS since its for him I dont even care if its already opened

    Dolfan657 @ hotmail.com.

  5. Gary

    sorry for the TJ post here I really am gonna miss Carlin what are they gonna do in Cars 2? I know its in the works but who will fill in or do we think his lines were already filmed?

    (MET: I believe the story is about some international adventure for McQueen (and presumably Sally) so Fillmore’s part might not have been very big but I’m just guessing. Since the movie is still 4 years out, I’m going to presume they haven’t done much recording of the lines yet – they do record lines first and then tweak along the way so maybe they already have but if they haven’t, it will be a tough call. I think most people really liked the Fillmore character and it would be tough not to have him there …).

  6. BMW

    So long George, its a sadder world without the hippie dippy weatherman, You were the best.

  7. danno

    all things being equal, If they feel the need to replace Carlin, any bet we get a Cheech (Ramone) & Chong (as Fillmore) reunion ?

    (MET: Yea, you might not be far off base though they might call him Fillmore’s cousin or something …).

Leave a Reply

